UptoDate

I had an idea in Mass this week about a blog post I was going to write.  The gospel lesson was the story of Peter in the boat.  Jesus  telling Peter to cast down his nets just once more, enter into the deep and see what you catch.  There was a connection, a moment I could feel like Peter in this story, feel my feet in the water.  I had something to say about it.  And I didn’t write it down.  There doesn’t seem to be a moment in the Mass where it is appropriate to pull out my kitten-themed journal (You’ve Cat to Be Kitten Me Right Meow) and jot down notes.  So like I knew I would, I forgot.  I don’t know if it was the idea that God is sometimes right, even when we think we’re the expert (Peter was the fisherman…Jesus was just a carpenter).  Or if it was that God’s miracles are so extravagant, maybe we could even say wasteful (the crowd watching didn’t see Jesus’ miracle to Peter…Jesus didn’t bring in the catch), but in a way that proves he doesn’t operate on the world’s terms. (Cue Judas singing here…Israel in 4 BC had no mass communication). Maybe its that discipleship means being called out of abundance into poverty, rather than the other way around (Jesus called Peter to leave the biggest catch of his life and join him on an ill-fated quest that ended in death for all involved).  Maybe it was none of these things.  I don’t remember.  All I know now is that God doesn’t work like we do. She’s on some different wavelength entirely.  And it wouldn’t hurt us to try things Her way from time to time.

I’ve been more than scatterbrained lately.  I bounce around from thought to thought, rarely accomplishing anything and sometimes worried about that, but sometimes incandescently happy.

My skin is so dry, I am turning red.  Its time to go use the crappy, greasy lotion my work keeps back by the giant tub of recycling.

No matter how great a haircut, you’ll never be able to style it like they do in the salon.  Ever.  Well, maybe you could.  I can’t.

Beauty is so socially constructed.  I’m learning this and sometimes I don’t care and I still buy in whole-heartedly.  And sometimes I feel like its just not worth my time or money to become “beautiful.”  We’re not gonna pay last year’s rent.

Ash Wednesday is coming up and I think I’m going to give in to the Lenten fast.  Not Chocolat style by any means, but I haven’t really bought in to this ritual since my sophomore year of college back when Elle and I fasted together.  I have a couple of days to figure out what fasting means in the context of religion (not just food-fasting, btw).  Sometimes, I think I could slip into treating it like a New Year’s resolution.  Which is not the point.  Its about sacrificing for the good of our hearts and our world, not for losing 10 pounds or kicking a bad habit.  I think we’re called to give up what separates us from God and from each other.  Even if its only for 40 days, its the will to walk.  I can tell you one thing, though, I won’t be giving up wine.  Jesus understands that one.

Leave a Reply

