Its Last Year All Over Again

Please please please please please.

Cross your fingers for me.

I’m re-applying to grad schools.  But just three.  I’m limiting my search and hopefully improving the quality of my applications.  I am applying to history phD programs: Washington University, University of Minnesota, and Notre Dame.

Washington University would be scary as hell. But I’ve dreamed of it so long; I can’t pass up the opportunity to apply again.

University of Minnesota has a strong history program in East Asian History and African History.  A large faculty and a respected program.  Plus lots of flannel and Jeremy Messersmith.  Bike friendly city, also.

But here’s the kicker.  The one I just found tonight.  The last in the tri-fecta.  (I am making this sound awfully light for how seriously I am taking this.)  History and Peace Studies at Notre Dame.  I would study history through the Kroc Institute for Peace Studies.  I would want my dissertation to concern conflict and re-building in modern history.  Essentially study what has happened after major conflicts, what efforts have been made in the recovery/reconciliation process and what effect has that had on future conflict.  Hopefully very focused on the history of the civil war/peace building in Sierra Leone.  This could be perfect.  And its such a long shot.  Its freaking Notre Dame.  But my heart is racing.

All my practicality flew out the window.  I’m emotionally involved in this search now.  What happens now?

One response

Leave a Reply

