Robin Hood

Thank God for wine bottles that don’t have that little indent on the bottom, so that there really is as much wine left in the bottle as you think there is.  Aka, thank God for cheap wine.  Really.  I do.  It may be one of my more frequent prayers.

I have this plan.  And I don’t want to jinx it.  Because its one hell of a long shot.  But I want it.  So I’m trying.

The funny thing about getting older is that as time goes by, you have to quit dreaming about the future.  You only have a limited number of years in which you can make plans.  Then, eventually, it just was what it was.  Someday I won’t be able to say, “Someday I’ll go back to China.”  Someday I won’t be able to say “Someday I’ll go to grad school in Edinburgh.”  Someday I won’t be able to say “Someday I’ll learn the noseflute.”  In fact, most people will never say that.  Maybe part of me can’t get used to the idea of having to stop dreaming and start doing.  But if you stop before doing, then what was the point of the dream?

Reality is harsh to the feet of shadows.

One response

Leave a Reply

