Picked up the celery but dropped the beet.

I am burnt to a crisp.

I am really terrible at judging how much sun I am getting, but surprise, 8 hours out working in the sun actually turns into red skin.  Who knew?  Ready for another day of it tomorrow.  In over 90 degree heat.  And this is just the beginning.

I’m learning a lot these days.  About myself and my habits and my attitudes.  Living life post graduation is odd.  Even though I’ll be going back to school in the fall, it feels different.  I have no tests. No papers.  No projects.  No readings to be read.  No game theory problems to be stared at blankly.  I get home in the evening after a day of work and I’m done for the day.  I have genuinely free time.

I’m also learning a lot about gardening.  For being someone who loves food culture and the food system so much, I’ve never really done much real gardening.  Sorry, Mom, for never helping you in our garden as a child.  But I’ve spent the past three days at work pruning blueberries.  I’m learning about taking care of fruit crops, specifically, but just generally I’m learning a lot about farm life.  From observing the family that owns the farm at which I work and the work going on around me, I’m seeing what a commitment it is to produce food.  To sustain life.

And I’m learning a lot about pruning.  About how necessary it is.  About how hard it can be.  It makes me think of metaphoric gardening and metaphoric pruning.  And I think I need to think about it a whole lot more.

Leave a Reply

