Enough

I listened to the official statement.  Osama Bin Laden has been killed.

There has been an outpouring, people triumphantly celebrating this death or hailing it as a victory. But a life was lost. When is any murder a cause for celebration?  No life is beyond hope, grace, or love.  Let the one among you who is without sin cast the first stone.

A week ago, we celebrated the victory of love over the power of the grave.  Are we so quick to forget that?  Death ought never to be the victor or the means of victory.  We were made for life.  Death cannot bring healing.  Death cannot bring hope.  Death cannot bring comfort.  Death cannot bring resurrection.

So tonight, I mourn.  Because one more life has been lost in a struggle that is already too soaked in blood.  Tonight I mourn because every life matters.  Tonight I mourn because I have felt anger, murder, war, broken promises, lust, fear, dishonesty, and every other broken emotion in my own heart.  Tonight I mourn because the world is groaning under the same brokenness.

And tonight I ask when will love finally be our solution?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

