Pollyanna

Winter is such a time of mixed emotions for me.  It’s such a time of volatility.  Probably because of the weather.  I’m not much of an outdoorsy girl, but there is something about the warmth of a sunlit lawn.  Warm wind blowing through the trees.  Everything green and growing.  Something about that whispers of freedom and peace.  Awakens my emotions and calms my spirit.  Warmth and promise and whispering excitement.

Winter is a time of whitewashed landscapes.  Blasting winds that leave you exhilarated and exhausted.  A roller coaster between freezing ice and snow and huddled warmth under blankets with tea or coffee or cider.  Take your pick.  It’s beautiful but it’s harsh.

I want it to be spring again.  I want it to be summer.  I want warm, clear nights and hot, humid days.  But for now, I’ll enjoy the winter.  Because no matter how it might seems, life is beautiful and the heart of love is good.  Anecdotal proof be damned, people are beautiful, people are good.  Everything is meant to be beautiful and goddamn it, it will be.  I believe it.

Leave a Reply

