Counting

Life is getting overwhelming.  Trying to figure out my study abroad options.  Trying to decide if I’ll transfer and where, when, and how.  Finishing up papers, projects, and tests.  Trying to be intentional with the relationships in my life.  Seeking a heart that is living in love, in communion with God and men.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

For to be sure, he was crucified in weakness, yet he lives by God’s power. Likewise, we are weak in him, yet by God’s power we will live with him to serve you. (2 Corinthians 13:4)

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. (Romans 8:26)

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses…(Hebrews 4:15)

Even when I feel overwhelmed and insufficient, my weaknesses only give room for the strength of my King who is willing to see my weakness and fill it with his strength.  Not to dismiss me as a failure, as unable to live in his kingdom, but his beloved who needs him.  And he delights to give me the desires of my heart.  I can trust his heart.  I can know that he is good.

Life isn’t dependent upon our ability to handle it.  Its not on our shoulders.  We’re made in God’s image.  We’re given a desire to seek his heart and to love what he loves.   And he works in our weakness.  We can let go of the need to be validated by what we do.  We can be validated by whose we are.

And again, that connects us all.  Because our worth isn’t measured by and our lives aren’t defined by our location, our income, our appearance, or our abilities, but by our Beloved.  And there is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female (Galatians3:28) in His eyes.  Only loved.

Leave a Reply

