I’m lost in the statistics.

I volunteer with an organization that runs a crisis help line for victims of violent crime.  I started the training last week.  Its been a lot of going over information.  Reading about myths of victimization.  False profiles of victims.  Characteristics in abusers. Things I knew.  Things that common sense told me.  But things I never really understood until now.  Now I’m seeing the numbers.  The statistics.  The percentages.

It hurts.

I can’t believe this much pain exists.  That people do these things.  That this can be a way of life for some people.  That people go through life being treated this way and never realizing that its not supposed to be like that.  Jesus, what have we become?

Right now, I’m feeling so overwhelmed.  I know there are people helping.  There are organizations working to help.  There are legislators pushing laws to help.  People are learning.  Escaping the cycles.  I know the problem can’t be defeated.  I know what needs to be done is to help one person at a time.  Change one person’s situation.  Help one person start a new life.  And then when you’re done with that, find someone else.  But right now, all I see are the numbers.  All I feel is the vastness of the pain.  I don’t want this to be true.

There is so obviously so much need for love, for courage, for truth, for all the things that God is in our world.  We are so broken.  I need the reminder that God hasn’t abandoned us.  I know it.  I just don’t feel it right now.

I know that our God can create beauty out of brokenness and bring good out of every situation, but I’d just rather there not be any brokenness at all.

2 responses

  1. Wow- Thats awesome that you are able to volunteer with such an organization. There are so many people out there that just need to know that there is someone who is willing to listen and to help.

  2. “Hold on, hold tight.
    Darkness can’t perceive the light,
    though lightlessness has chilled us numb,
    and though its wings may cloud the skies,
    the dark shall never overcome.
    Light of the World,
    Your love, has never failed.”
    –BS2

Leave a Reply

