diva?

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle?  Honestly, I love trees.  I like to pretend I’m green.  If I would have been born a few decades earlier, I like to think I would have been a hippie.   I pretend to care, but really its so much more convenient to buy into our throw-away culture.  Personally, right now, its really not quite as comfortable to be making some of the environmentally conscious decisions I want to make.  Its not a huge hassle or anything, just not quite as nice.  Its such a little change to make in my life and sometimes I wonder if it really makes a difference.  Sometimes, I just want to give up, in a lot of areas, because it would be so much easier and because it seems like I can’t possibly make a difference, but then again, its always the small rocks that precede a landslide.

3 responses

  1. “its always the small rocks that precede a landslide.”

    That’s an awesome thought. Just think though, your small change, in influencing others (whether you can see it or not) can have a huge ripple effect far beyond what you would expect from your little habits.

    This post is well over a year old now. Do you still have this dilemma today?

  2. Definitely. I think its hard to trust that ripples are being created when all you can see is that small pebble sinking to the bottom of the pond. But I guess thats exactly what it comes down to: trust. And sometimes recklessness. Doing things, without having a perfect reason why or a reasonable guess that everything will turn out for the best. Just jumping and not worrying about where you’ll go once you land.

Leave a Reply

